004 – The Hugo Win

First, a definition: slushing is the process of reviewing unsolicited fiction submissions and marking them as either rejected or recommended. I started slushing for Clarkesworld in September 2008. Since then, I’ve tackled 3,501 submissions (as of this post right now), and in that time I rejected a lot of stories, passed a small number along to Neil Clarke for final review, and saw a handful picked out of the pile for publication. Either way, it’s a very regimented system, but it works great and helps keep me active in the writing world despite the fact that I haven’t written anything short story-like in many, many months. Insert your sad face of choice here. I will return to it one day, maybe.

Second, everything you’d want to know about the Hugo Award can be found by clicking this very sentence.

But yeah…Clarkesworld won the Hugo! That’s freakin’ awesome. Gonna rocket to the moooooon. Congrats to everyone involved, especially my fellow slushers Jamie Lackey, Sean Markey, and Nayad Monroe! May the mountain of submissions never topple down upon us.

Fascinating new thing
You delight me
And I know you’re speaking of me

– “F.N.T.” by Semisonic

This entry was posted in books, life, musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 004 – The Hugo Win

  1. Tara says:

    Awesome!! That’s just great! 🙂

    Middle panel cracked me up, with a name like Hugo, it’s gotta be good, right?

Leave a Reply

